Current Articles | Categories | Search | Syndication

EDP students will receive awards March 19
Monday, March 03, 2008

(See related story)

The accomplishments of students and alumni of the SUNY Fredonia Educational Development Program will be the focus of the campus's 26th Annual EDP Awards Ceremony on Wednesday, March 19, in Café G of the Williams Center at 4 p.m.

The event is free but reservations are requested by March 10. Donations are encouraged to help EDP continue assisting needy students. Checks may be made payable to the Fredonia College Foundation. For further information, call the EDP Office at 673 3317.

Janet Knapp, interim director of the program, said, “Celebrating our students' achievements in this public forum and acknowledging their academic successes encourages them to remember their power to excel and sets the perfect example for other students to believe in themselves and understand that hard work matters. This event also provides the opportunity for our program to thank the campus and community for their support and assistance in serving EDP students.”

The following list includes the awards and their recipients: 

Outstanding EDP Tutor of the Year:

  • Nelson Diaz--junior, English - Adolescence Educ, Bronx
  • Stephanie Maderer--senior, Childhood Educ – Soc St 7-9, Orchard Park

Community Service Awards:

  • Saralyn Dasilva--senior, Theatre Arts, Buffalo
  • Georgia Dillard--junior , Interdisciplinary Studies Music Business, Rochester
  • Christopher Hillman--freshman, Computer Science, Buffalo
  • Martine Jerome--senior, Communication Disorders, Brooklyn
  • Jessica Karan--sophomore , Social Work, Orchard Park
  • Travis Love--freshman, Sociology, Brooklyn
  • Keydra Manns--freshman, Psychology, Buffalo
  • Chris McAllister--sophomore , Music Education, Whitney Point
  • Danielle Miller--freshman, English - Adolescence Educ, Maine
  • Justin Moore--freshman, Accounting, Buffalo
  • Raelee Price--freshman, Business Administration, Franklinville
  • Artrese Reid--sophomore , Business Administration - Finance, New York
  • Andre Salter--freshman, Liberal Arts, Buffalo
  • Christian Torres--sophomore , Business Administration, Dunkirk
  • Lauren Williams--sophomore , Liberal Arts, Syracuse
  • Danielle Zamboroski--senior, Business Administration, West Seneca

Arthur O. Eve Scholarship

  • Nelson Diaz--junior, English - Adolescence Educ, Bronx
  • Elvira Gonzalez--senior, Business Administration - Finance, Bronx
  • Christopher Perry--senior, Business Administration - Mangmnt, New York

The Director’s Award

  • Annmarie Coppola-- junior, Education Childhood Educ - English, West Seneca

Gregory Antonio Memorial Award

  • Benjamin Weidman--junior, Social Work, Clifton Springs

Exemplary Service Award

  • Kathleen Bonds-- EDP Director from 1992-2008

Distinguished Alumnus Award

  • Shaun Nelms--1999 alumnus, Social Studies, Currently principal at Burger Middle School, Rush-Henrietta Central School district. See related article.

Chi Alpha Epsilon National Honor Society Inductees

Eight new inductees will be welcomed into Chi Alpha Epsilon National Honor Society (XAE), Alpha Mu Chapter, during a private induction ceremony preceding the awards program. Inductees include EDP students and Full Opportunity Program students who achieved a cumulative 3.0 GPA or better for two consecutive semesters and attend full time. Inductees will be pinned by the person of their choice during the awards ceremony. Chi Alpha Epsilon stands for Center for Academic Excellence and was founded at the West Chester University of Pennsylvania in 1990 by Dr. Elbert M. Saddler, Ph.D.

Fredonia’s Alpha Mu chapter started in 1999 and is now up to 122 inductees. The new inductees are:

  • Edward Fourcell--senior, Music Business, New York
  • Katelyn Miller--sophomore, Biology, Fredonia
  • Jeffrey Moretti--junior, Business Administration, Pittsford
  • Justin Ramsey--sophomore, History, Medford
  • Amanda Richards--junior, Exercise Science, Rome
  • Christian Torres--sophomore, Business Administration, Dunkirk
  • Jacob Valla--junior, Communication Disorders, Rochester
  • Barbara Yochym (Honorary)--EDP Secretary, Fredonia

Share on Facebook

Previous Page | Next Page