Current Articles | Categories | Search | Syndication

EDP Awards Ceremony to honor students and decorated war veteran alumna on March 21
Tuesday, March 13, 2012

Ida Boyd
Lt. Col. Ida Boyd, an officer at the Army Reserve Legal Command, will receive EDP's Distinguished Alumni Award.  

By Raul Lopez, '12

The focus of the 30th Annual EDP Awards Ceremony and Chi Alpha Epsilon National Honor Society Induction will once again be student and alumni success. This year’s event will be held on Wednesday, March 21, in the Horizon Room of the Williams Center at 4 p.m. The Educational Development Program at SUNY Fredonia will recognize the achievement of students who have excelled in the classroom and contributed to the community. SUNY Fredonia President Dennis L. Hefner will be honored with the Exemplary Service Award.

The college community is invited to RSVP by March 12, on-line at Contributions to the EDP Scholarship and Community Service Fund are also accepted to reward academic achievement and community service, by making checks payable to the Fredonia College Foundation, or going online.

This year’s Distinguished Alumni Award will be presented to Lieutenant Colonel Ida Boyd, a decorated war veteran who graduated from SUNY Fredonia in 1985 with a degree in communication/media. Her present assignment is at the Army Reserve Legal Command in Gaithersburg, Maryland, where she is the Deputy Senior Human Resource Officer. She is also a Ph.D. candidate from Capella University in Organizational Management.

A native of Brooklyn, Lt. Col. Boyd, came to Fredonia through EDP and participated in Reserve Officer Training Corps (ROTC), receiving her commission in July 1986. Her military awards include the Meritorious Service Medal (with 3 Oak Leaf Clusters), Joint Service Commendation Medal (with 1 Oak Leaf Cluster), Army Commendation Medal (with 5 Oak Leaf Clusters), Meritorious Unit Commendation, Army Superior Unit Award, Armed Forces Reserve Medal (with Silver Hourglass with Mobilization Device), Military Outstanding Volunteer Service Medal, Southwest Asia Service Medal (with 3 Bronze Stars), Kuwait Liberation Medal (Kingdom of Saudi Arabia), Kuwait Liberation Medal (Government of Kuwait), Desert Storm Combat Patch, and Global War on Terrorism Service Medal.

Many students will be honored during the event. “Celebrating our students' accomplishments in this public forum and acknowledging their academic successes encourages them to remember their power to excel and sets the perfect example for other students to believe in themselves and understand that hard work matters. This event also provides the opportunity for our program to thank the campus and community for their support and assistance in serving EDP students,” said David M. White, EDP Director.

The Outstanding EDP Tutor of the Year awards will go to the following students:

  • Sydney Brunecz, senior Political Science major, Jamestown, NY
  • Georgie Fu, senior Public Relations major, Shanghai, China
  • Chelsea Haag, senior Math major, Spencerport, NY

The following students will receive the Arthur O. Eve Scholarship:

  • Marcus Anderson, senior Social Studies Adolescent Education major, Blasdell, NY
  • Alexander Davis, senior Music Education, Batavia, NY
  • James Harris, senior Business Administration major, Cheektowaga, NY

The following people will receive awards:

  • Director’s Award—Christopher Patrick, sophomore Liberal Arts major, Brooklyn, NY
  • Gregory Antonio Award—Amanda Tobin, senior Social Work major, Perrysburg, NY

Certificates: EDP students who earned a 2.70 and above GPA while completing 12 credits or more for the Spring and Fall semesters in 2011, will receive academic certificates. Silver certificates will be awarded to students between a 2.70 – 3.29 GPA. Gold certificates will be awarded to students between a 3.30 and 4.00 GPA.

Chi Alpha Epsilon National Honor Society: Students who achieve a cumulative 3.0 GPA or better for two consecutive semesters and attend SUNY Fredonia full time are eligible for induction into this honor society. Ten inductees will be welcomed into Chi Alpha Epsilon (XAE) National Honor Society, Alpha Mu chapter, during a private induction ceremony preceding the awards program. Inductees include EDP and Full Opportunity Programs (FOP) students as well. Chi Alpha Epsilon stands for Center for Academic Excellence and was founded at the West Chester University of Pennsylvania in 1990 by Dr. Elbert M. Saddler, Ph.D. Fredonia’s chapter was started in 1999, and now has 172 inductees. The Spring 2012 Chi Alpha Epsilon National Honor Society inductees include: Mandel Avril, Casey Chiesa, Kenneth Dawson, Brittney Merritt, Aiden Perrilloux, Domonick Pitts, Kimberly Reynolds, Amanda Rivera, Chelsea Senn, and Jian Feng Xie.

For more information, please contact the EDP office, at (716) 673-3317.


Share on Facebook

Previous Page | Next Page