Current Articles | Categories | Search | Syndication

Clark Zlotchew book is finalist in Indie awards
Tuesday, May 17, 2011

decade cover“Once Upon a Decade: Tales of the Fifties,” a new book written by Dr. Clark Zlotchew, professor of Modern Languages and Literatures and Distinguished Teaching Professor at SUNY Fredonia, has been selected as one of three finalists in the 2011 Next Generation Indie Book Awards.

This is Zlotchew's 17th book, but the third of his own fiction.

Having his collection of short stories placed into consideration for a national literary award in the short story fiction category was an unexpected delight for Zlotchew.

“This came as a complete surprise to me; I hadn’t submitted my book to this program. In fact, I hadn’t even known about its existence,” said Zlotchew, who indicated that his publisher was behind the nomination. And that, he notes, “was a very satisfying surprise.”

The Next Generation Indie Book Awards was established to recognize and honor the most exceptional independently published books in 60 different categories. This year’s program is presented by Independent Book Publishing Professionals Group in cooperation with the Allen O’Shea Literary Agency.

Zlotchew will be listed as a finalist in the 2011 Next Generation Indie Book Awards catalogue that will be distributed at Book Expo America, the largest gathering in the U.S. held for book buyers, library representatives, media and industry professionals later this month in New York City. As a finalist, Zlotchew has also been invited to an awards reception at the Plaza Hotel in New York on May 24. He will also receive both a Finalist Certificate and a Finalist medal.

The Next Generation Indie Book Awards offers 67 cash prizes and awards and maximum exposure and possible representation with a leading New York literary agent to the top 60 books entered.

The Awards program is open to all indie publishers including independent publishers, university presses, self-published authors, e-book authors, seasoned authors and first time authors based in the U.S., Canada or internationally who have a book written in English and released in 2011 or 2012 or with a 2011 or 2012 copyright date.

Share on Facebook

Previous Page | Next Page