Current Articles | Categories | Search | Syndication

EDP students to be honored March 9
Thursday, February 24, 2011

SUNY Fredonia students who have excelled in the classroom and contributed to the community will take center stage at the 29th annual Educational Development Program (EDP) Awards Program and Chi Alpha Epsilon National Honorary Society induction ceremony on Wednesday, March 9, 4 p.m. at the Williams Center Horizon Room.

“Celebrating our students’ accomplishments in this public forum and acknowledging their academic successes encourages them to remember their power to excel and sets the perfect example for other students to believe in themselves and understand that hard work matters,” said David M. White, EDP director.

“This event also provides the opportunity for our program to thank the campus and community for their support and assistance in serving EDP students,” White added.

Two seniors, Elizabeth Milton and Daniel Smith, and junior Sherri Maine will receive Outstanding EDP Tutor of the Year Awards. Arthur O. Eve Scholarships will be presented to Tibrisha Faulkner, Fredrick Lee and Mercedes Sornoza, all seniors. The Director’s Award will be given to Michael Rowe, a sophomore. Derrick Brown, also a sophomore, will be the recipient of the Gregory Antonio Memorial.

The Distinguished Alumnus Award will be conferred upon Gino Morrow, class of 1994. Exemplary Service recognition will be bestowed upon Daniel Reed Library.

EDP students who earned a 2.7 or higher grade point average while completing 12 credit hours or more in the spring 2010 and fall 2010 semesters will receive academic certificates. Seventy-seven silver certificates, for students with grade averages between 2.7 and 3.29, and 38 gold certificates, for students with grade averages of 3.30 or higher, will be presented.

A total of 30 Community Service certificates will be awarded to students who performed volunteer work during blood drives, Fall Sweep or at the Boys & Girls Club.

The Chi Alpha Epsilon National Honor Society, Alpha Mu Chapter, will officially induct 18 new members during a private ceremony that precedes the awards program. EDP students and Full Opportunity Program students are among the inductees. Students who achieve a cumulative 3.0 GPA or better for two consecutive semesters and are enrolled as full-time students are eligible. Inductees will be pinned by the person of their choice during the awards ceremony.

Chi Alpha Epsilon (Center for Academic Excellence) was founded at West Chester University of Pennsylvania in 1990; Fredonia’s Alpha Mu Chapter, formed in 1999, has 162 inductees.

The new student inductees, from either the EDP or Full Opportunity Program, include: Kaitlin Bager, Nicholas Bernard, Derrick Brown, Dana Collier, Erika Colon, Tara Courtney, Carmelito Deleon, Lavie Donnell, Ashley Ellis, Shawn Farrell, Megan Fink, Alexis Fores, Julia Gangi, Corinna Kester, Alicia Nicolas and Rebecca Templeton. Two honorary inductees, Rachel Skemer, EDP counselor; and David White, EDP director, will also be welcomed.

The campus community is invited to attend the ceremony. Reservations should be placed by Feb. 28. Contributions to the EDP Scholarship and Community Service Fund are greatly appreciated. These funds allow EDP to reward academic achievement and community service and assist its most needy students. Checks can be made payable to the Fredonia College Foundation or submitted on-line at

For more information, call the EDP office, 673-3317. 

Share on Facebook

Previous Page | Next Page