Current Articles | Categories | Search | Syndication

Custodial staff making sure safety is priority
Monday, January 24, 2011

Award recipients and staff include (from left) Steve Kosierb, Assistant Director of Custodial Services Mark Delcamp, David Tarnowski, Daniel Thompson, Rich Gugino, Head Janitor Sue Freitas, Rosemary McCune and Leonard Coniglio. 

Over 70 members of the custodial staff at SUNY Fredonia gathered in the university’s Horizon Room on Thursday, Jan. 13, for the 10th Annual Custodial Safety Awards Luncheon.

Interim Vice President for Administration Karen Porpiglia noted that in addition to officially recognizing the recipients of safety awards based on building inspections conducted during the fall semester, the event presented an opportunity to thank those in attendance for the outstanding work done every day on campus. The SUNY Fredonia campus is known throughout the system for its appearance and cleanliness.

Following lunch, Assistant Director of Custodial Services Mark Delcamp and Head Janitor Suzanne Freitas announced and congratulated recipients of Safety Incentive Awards resulting from the fall inspections. Mr. Delcamp also thanked the custodial staff for its flexibility in light of the recent retirement of 17 members of the staff.

Awards were presented in three areas; Proper Bulb Storage, No “chocked” Doors, and Proper Chemical Labeling, with all staff in the building fully in compliance eligible to receive an award.

In the Proper Bulb Storage category, staff members David Tarnowski, an employee since 2002, and Steve Kosierb, a staff member since March 2010, working in the Administrative Office Complex, were the award recipients.

In the doors category, staff member since 2007 Rosemary McCune, Daniel Thompson, an employee since 2006; and staff member since 2010 Susan Lucas, received awards for their service in the Williams Center.

In the Proper Chemical Labeling category, employees working in Reed Library garnered the honor including Leonard Coniglio, a staff member since 2009; Richard Gugino and Linda Saletta, staff members since 2006, and James Swierk, working at the university since 1991.

All award recipients received a certificate and monetary award.



Share on Facebook

Previous Page | Next Page