Current Articles | Categories | Search | Syndication

EDP to hold 27th awards ceremony and induct honor students
Tuesday, February 17, 2009

“Celebrating our students’ achievements in this public forum and acknowledging their academic successes encourages them to remember their power to excel and sets the perfect example for other students to believe in themselves and understand that hard work matters.”

--Janet Knapp

FREDONIA, N.Y. — Feb. 16, 2009 — SUNY Fredonia’s Educational Development Program (EDP) will celebrate its 27th annual awards ceremony on Wed., March 11 at 4 p.m. in the Horizon Room of the Williams Center. Rohan Patrick, a 1992 graduate who is now the new owner and manager of The White Inn in Fredonia, will receive the Distinguished Alumni Award during the ceremony.

To attend the ceremony, contact the EDP Office at 673-3317 by February 25. For more information, please contact EDP director Janet Knapp at 673-3317.

The event will also recognize student achievement in the classroom as well as contributions to the community. EDP students earning at least a 2.70 grade point average (GPA) while completing 12 or more credits during the spring and fall 2008 semesters will receive academic certificates. Silver certificates go to students with a 2.70 3.29 GPA, while gold certificates are given to students who have earned a GPA of 3.30 or higher. This year, 85 silver and 37 gold certificates will be presented.

During a private ceremony preceding the EDP event, 14 new members will be inducted into Fredonia’s chapter of the Chi Alpha Epsilon National Honor Society. Founded at the West Chester University of Pennsylvania in 1989 by Dr. Elbert M. Saddler, Chi Alpha Epsilon recognizes the academic achievements of students admitted to colleges and the universities through non-traditional criteria. It aims to promote continued high academic standards, foster increased communication among its members, and honor academic excellence. Fredonia’s Alpha Mu chapter, started in 1999, will now have 136 total inductees, which include EDP and Full Opportunity Program full-time students who achieve a cumulative GPA of 3.0 or better for two consecutive semesters.

“Celebrating our students’ achievements in this public forum and acknowledging their academic successes encourages them to remember their power to excel and sets the perfect example for other students to believe in themselves and understand that hard work matters,” said EDP Interim Director Janet Knapp. “This event also provides the opportunity for our program to thank the campus and community for their support and assistance in serving EDP students.”

The EDP honorees include:

Outstanding EDP Tutor of the Year:

  • John King, senior, chemistry; Constableville
  • Stanley Saeli, senior, Biology Adolescence Education; Dunkirk
  • Antony Villar, senior, Business Administration/Finance; New York City

Community Service Award:

  • Chelsea Annis, sophomore, Childhood Inclusive Education/Math; Mount Morris
  • Julius Bryant, sophomore, Liberal Arts; Buffalo[
  • David Chatterton, freshman, Music Education; Oswego
  • Bobby Daniels II, freshman, Criminal Justice; Niagara Falls
  • Benjamin Frasier, sophomore, Theatre Arts; Mexico
  • Kiera Graham, sophomore, Liberal Arts; Bay Shore
  • Dior Jackson, freshman, Sports Management / Exercise Science; Monticello
  • Brittany Krise, sophomore, English; Painted Post
  • Kristian Lindberg, freshman, Psychology; Cheektowaga
  • Benjamin Martin, junior, Criminal Justice; Warsaw
  • Thani McBride, freshman, Business Administration/Marketing; Rochester
  • Danielle Miller, sophomore, English/Adolescence Education; Maine
  • Justin Moore, sophomore, Music/Applied; Buffalo
  • Alicia Nicolas, junior, Psychology; Portland
  • Vincent Outerbridge, junior, Business Administration; Bronx
  • Adebusayo Oyeleye, sophomore, Liberal Arts; Arverne
  • Beatrice Peralta, sophomore, Liberal Arts; Bronx
  • Andrea Polowy, freshman, Liberal Arts; Fredonia
  • Christian Torres, junior, Business Administration; Dunkirk 
  • Jacob Valla, senior, Communication Disorders and Sciences; Rochester
  • Lauren Williams, junior, Spanish; Syracuse

Arthur O. Eve Scholarship

  • Christian Torres, junior, Business Administration; Dunkirk 
  • Erika Brooks, senior, Early Childhood Education/English; Brooklyn 
  • Terrill Ocona, senior, Communication/TV & Digital Film; Brooklyn

EDP Director’s Award

  • Derwin English, sophomore, Business Administration; Arverne

Gregory Antonio Memorial Award

  • Jacob Valla, senior, Communication Disorders and Sciences; Rochester

Exemplary Service Award

  • Averl Otis, director of the Center for Multicultural Affairs; SUNY Fredonia

Distinguished Alumnus Award

  • Mr. Rohan Patrick, ‘92, art; Fredonia

The Chi Alpha Omega inductees 

  • Chelsea Annis, sophomore, Childhood Inclusive Education/Math; Mount Morris
  • Kathryn Christian, sophomore, Psychology; Webster
  • Keli Cochran, junior, Communication Studies; Buffalo
  • Rebecca Eisenman, sophomore, Communication/Public Relations; Springville
  • Terica Evans, sophomore, Communication/Public Relations; The Bronx
  • Kong Gao, sophomore, Psychology; New York City
  • Samantha Lape, senior, Communication/Public Relations; Fredonia
  • Fredrick Lee, sophomore, Communication/TV and Digital Film; Rosedale
  • Chris McAllister, junior, Music Education; Whitney Point
  • Lucy Nunez, sophomore, Childhood Inclusive Education/Spanish; Brooklyn
  • Terrence Raymond, junior, Criminal Justice; Jamestown
  • Artrese Reid, junior, Business Administration/Finance; New York
  • Alexander Ridgell, senior, Music Education; DeWitt
  • Deanna Schmittendorf, sophomore, Speech Pathology; South Dayton



Share on Facebook

Previous Page | Next Page