Current Articles | Categories | Search | Syndication

Business Club honors Cutting Crew owners Canfora and Michalak
Monday, March 10, 2014

Business Club honors Cutting Crew owners Canfora and Michalak

SUNY Fredonia's Business Club honored Cutting Crew owners Rita Canfora and Debbie Michalak at its 37th annual awards banquet. Pictured from left are students Nicholas Padulo and Stephanie Willis, Ms. Canfora, student Nicolas Prosser, Ms. Michalak, students Jessica Tamol, Nicole Sparks, Jessica Bolsei and Danielle Oakes, and Professor Linda Hall.

On Thursday, March 6, the SUNY Fredonia Business Club presented the 37th Annual Business Persons of the Year Award to Rita Canfora and Debbie Michalak, owners of The Cutting Crew, located on Eagle Street in the village of Fredonia. An award banquet and ceremony was held in the Williams Center.

For over three decades, the Business Club has been honoring outstanding members of the Dunkirk and Fredonia business community through the award. Recipients are chosen based on their community involvement, business ethics, innovations in business, concern for employees, and contribution to the growth of local business. Professor Linda Hall noted that Ms. Canfora and Ms. Michalak have readily demonstrated these attributes. The duo has owned the Cutting Crew for 10 years, and combined has over 25 years of cosmetology experience. The entrepreneurs have diversified their business and have continually reached out to help their local community. They  steadily provided excellent service, encouraging their clientele with their motto: “Be your own kind of beautiful,” words which Canfora and Michalak live by, and which they credited for helping them to create a successful business.

Margaret Valone delivered the evening’s keynote address, imparting words of wisdom for business and life, and encouragement for the students and all who were present. Ms. Valone was the second recipient of the Business Person of the Year Award in 1979 as then-owner of the Mar-Val Beauty Salon. Several other previous winners were also in attendance this year to share their business advice for students, including Gary Damico (1992), Dr. Josef Powell (1999), Patty Damico (2005), Judge Walter Drag (2006), and Sue and Jeff Briggs (2012).

Share on Facebook

Previous Page | Next Page