Current Articles | Categories | Search | Syndication

Fredonians on All-SUNYAC Team and Estanislau is Fulton Award winner
Monday, March 03, 2014

Fredonians on All-SUNYAC Team and Estanislau is Fulton Award winner

John Estanislau

All-SUNYAC teams in men's and women's swimming diving were announced following the completion of the 2014 State University of New York Athletic Conference championship meet in Buffalo on Feb. 22.

Five Blue Devil men and four Blue Devil women were chosen by virtue of their performances during the four-day meet. First-place finishers are assured a spot on the SUNYAC First Team. Second- and third-place finishers are named to the Second Team.

The men's First Team choices include senior John Estanislau (East Longmeadow, Mass) and freshman Jeff Matter (East Aurora, N.Y.). Estanislau was also named the winner of the James Fulton Award and Matter the Male Diver of the Meet during the awards presentation Saturday night. The James Fulton award is given annually to a senior male swimmer/diver based on the following criteria: All-America honors, All-SUNYAC honors, improvement throughout collegiate career and academic achievement. The last time a Fredonian had received the award was James Healy during the 1987-88 season. Fulton coached at Brockport for 25 years, winning 78 percent of the team’s dual meets and three of the first five SUNYAC Championships. He also coached nine All-American swimmers and saw three of this swimmers become coaches of NCAA Division I programs.

Also making SUNYAC First Team is freshman Adam Clouthier (Fairport, N.Y.). Second Team selections are seniors Adrian Van Hall (Owego, N.Y.) and Eric Jordan (Lancaster, N.Y.).

On the women's list are senior Ashley Keller (Lockport, N.Y.), who was selected Female Diver of the Meet as well as SUNYAC First Team. Second Team honorees are senior Larissa Dobson (Hamburg, N.Y.), senior Katelyn Haley (Canandaigua, N.Y.), and junior Heather Colby (Oswego, N.Y.).

Share on Facebook

Previous Page | Next Page